Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-06-2014, 08:48 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Which direction? Auto or manual

So I'll be ordering my K50 body this Friday and was planning on getting the 50 or 35 to start. B&H has a good deal on these lenses with the camera body ($118 and $140 respectively) my budget right now is $700 max but preferably closer to $600. So $618 for the camera, 50mm, and a free memory card is perfect. However, knowing I will be buying a wide angle and a tele in the future is where the issue comes in.

I'm thinking about getting just the body, spending the $100 or so I would save by not getting the 50 on the katseye and buying all smc-m lenses. Or just older manual focus lenses. The money savings would be substantial and I don't see any major drawback in going this route. But I'm new to photography and maybe I'm missing something. I feel like auto is a convenience not a requirement so that's not really a factor. I have a little exp with my brothers d3200 and trying to shoot in manual with just the focus conformation light was kind of a pain. And I have some exp with my dad's old Olympus which had the eye piece focus screen.

So am I missing something or is this a feasible route to go? I'm not sure how the settings are controlled since there's no electronic connections. So am I not going to be able to shoot in anything but manual mode?
(Which I was planning on using mostly anyhow) and if I go this route, am I going to even be able to use the k50 to it's potential? Or will there be some drawbacks holding me back?
Thanks and I appreciate everyone's feedback.

05-06-2014, 08:51 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
You're going to miss modern coatings and get CA going that route. I've had manual lenses, but I sold them off because they ended up staying in the bag or at home most of the time.
05-06-2014, 09:04 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster