Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2014, 12:52 PM   #1

New K-50, something moves inside the body

Hi all,

Pentax newbie here.

I took delivery of a new K-50 (with 18-55 kit lens) from Amazon a few days ago and I'm very pleased with it in my short time with it. It's going to replace my trusty Olympus E-520.
I had also purchased in advance a used manual prime Pentax 50mm F1.4 and this combo put my Olympus with a prime Sigma 30mm F1.4 to shame in some quick low light pictures I took for comparison.

Now, regarding the subject of my post. If I rotate the K-50 (from landscape to portrait) I feel, and hear, something move inside. It's very subtle and I didn't notice it the first couple of days. Only when handling it late at night was that I noticed it. At first I thought it was the kit lens but this faint "wobble" I hear and feel happens with either lens and also with no lens attached. Is this normal? There was no damage I could see to the outer box when I took delivery of it. Everything seems to be working but I'd like to hear from other owners in case I need to exchange it.

08-11-2014, 12:57 PM - 1 Like   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's the sensor assembly you can hear. It floats in a magnetic field, that's how the sensor based shake reduction works.
08-11-2014, 01:03 PM - 2 Likes   #3
Pentaxian

You're not a real Pentaxian until you get your first Pentax DSLR and go, "What the hell is that?" Congrats!
08-11-2014, 01:10 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Ole Quote
That's the sensor assembly you can hear. It floats in a magnetic field, that's how the sensor based shake reduction works.
Ah, great to know. Thanks for the prompt response!

---------- Post added 08-11-14 at 04:13 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by vonBaloney Quote
You're not a real Pentaxian until you get your first Pentax DSLR and go, "What the hell is that?" Congrats!
Thank you.