Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-25-2014, 07:26 AM   #1

Pentax-F 35-70mm worth the upgrade?

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting into photography (got a K-50 with the DA L 18-55 WR and DA L 50-200 WR lenses kit a couple months ago), and I was wondering, is the Pentax-F 35-70mm lens a significant upgrade from the 18-55 kit lens? I understand the difference in the focal ranges, I'm talking more about sharpness and overall image quality. Seems like an inexpensive way to try a nicer lens (if it is, in fact, a nicer lens).

Thanks!
Leo

08-25-2014, 07:40 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It is sharper and more compact than the 18-55. It has very fast focus, likely fastest of all the zoom lenses available to Pentax - but the 18-55 is no slouch in AF either. The main benefit of it over the 18-55 is that it is more compact and a little sharper (especially wide open), plus it reaches 70mm vs 55mm with a wider aperture (allowing for thinner DOF). Having used one in the past, I wouldn't say it's an "upgrade" in image quality, but it is an upgrade in handling and aesthetics.
08-25-2014, 07:55 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I regret selling my F 35-70. I found it sharper than the kit lens. I prefer its rendition. Its more susceptible to flare, so I'd recommend using a lens hood.

Last edited by luftfluss; 08-25-2014 at 08:44 AM.
08-25-2014, 08:14 AM   #5
JPT
Pentaxian

The F35-70 is a fun lens, but I think the main reason to get it is for the different zoom range. I like this for times like a barbecue when I'm doing a lot of people pictures in relatively good light. It's pretty sharp but has notably worse flare resistance compared to DA and FA lenses. You also have to remember you're losing a lot at the wide end and the gain at the long end if not so noticeable.