Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-04-2014, 07:55 PM   #1
Forum Member

Please help me decide on my first DSLR camera.

Probably far too many posts like this. Sorry. I hope this area of the forums is appropriate.

I am moving from 35mm film to DSLR.

Even with a 35mm film SLR background, I am a beginner/novice. Photo classes in high school (hello 1983), and using my budget Minolta X-370 make me feel pretty confident in moving to a DSLR. I understand the relationship basics of shutter speed, aperture and ISO. My lens knowledge is limited. My B/w darkroom days are decades behind me. My first SLR experience was with the K-1000. I loved it. I plan on some typical point and shoot, but really want to use a DSLR more for serious shots at some point. I enjoy outdoor photography, and have experimented with macro.

I realize that most of today's DSLR choices are probably pretty great, but I am a cautious buyer. There is just so much to wade through. For a while I was fooled by looking at specs, and thinking high megapixels were important. I have lots to learn about modern equipment. Like some, my budget is limited. So far I have been considering Pentax, but have seen a few web articles and videos praising the Nikon D3200.

As far as I can tell, the Pentax K-50 and the Nikon D3200 are in a similar price range here in Canada (for my area at least). I am unimpressed with Canon, but honestly attribute that to just a feeling, instead of research. I have been sitting on the fence for weeks. I realize that as I am posting in the Pentax forum, there may be some bias.

Side to side comparisons of the K-50 and the D3200 aren't really helping me, as some of the technical stuff is new to me at this point.

• I have read that the K-50 has superior image quality and excellent low light capabilities compare to the D3200. Is that accurate?