Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-12-2014, 05:44 PM   #1

K-50 auto exposure issue

On auto exposure I don't get good reading, and if I switch to live view I get a good reading. For example, I turn the camera on in P mode and hold the shutter button down and get a reading on the back 1/4 sec f4 at 200 iso (I'm indoor at night pointing towards my computer screen) and exposure bar looks fine, then I switch to live view and it goes to 1/100 sec f4. Same thing happens outside, and I have to look at live view and either shoot that way or switch to M and adjust settings in live view than shoot through the view finder.

I feel like there's something wrong with the camera or (because I'm a newbie) I don't know how it works

Appreciate and feedback advice or questions

09-12-2014, 05:59 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What exposure mode are you using?
Spot = very tiny part of the center of the image is being used, can result in big changes in exposure if you move the camera just a tiny bit
Center = reads the entire image but gives priority to the center portion
Matrix = reads the entire image
09-12-2014, 06:31 PM   #3

Original Poster
First one (top one), believe it is matrix But why would it be sooo underexposed compared to live view? I have shot 35mm for twenty years, and finally talked my wife into a "real" camera, but she said only if she can take pictures without thinking about it. Now, i have to set it up for her to take pics.
09-12-2014, 07:38 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ma.s Quote
First one (top one), believe it is matrix But why would it be sooo underexposed compared to live view? I have shot 35mm for twenty years, and finally talked my wife into a "real" camera, but she said only if she can take pictures without thinking about it. Now, i have to set it up for her to take pics.