Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-10-2014, 12:27 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
K-50 vs K-5iis

My last post put the 3 vs 5iis against each other and since then someone recommended the K-50 with a focus on lens investments.
I'm an entry/ intermediate level photographer, but mostly a visual artist investing in a dslr to document my artwork (mostly pencil, charcoal, ink drawings with varied tones of B&W and others are color). The shots will be used to post to web and some small prints most likely nothing larger than 11 x 14 for at least a few years.
I would also be using this investment for portrait photography to reference from later during the drawing process.
Any thoughts would be very helpful from an outstanding community. Thank you for your time!

10-10-2014, 12:49 PM   #2

The K50 should be more than adequate for what you describe and will still give you great options all around.
10-10-2014, 01:16 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Why start another thread about the same thing?
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/29-welcomes-introductions/275357-k-50-vs-k-5iis.html
10-10-2014, 01:20 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Steve.Ledger Quote
I was told to post this in a more appropriate section in the forum for better responses. So that's what I did.

10-10-2014, 01:30 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I haven't used either lens, but I wanted to chime in with one bit of advice: Don't be afraid to buy them used. Unless you're planning on taking a massive number of photos, and the previous owner already took a massive number of photos, as long as the prior owner took decent care of the camera, you're not going to run into any issues with the shutter or anything else. And it's a lot cheaper to buy them used than new.

Same goes for lenses, for that matter.