Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2014, 12:07 PM   #1
Forum Member

K30 question about "crop sensor" and 1.5x crop

First of all I am a noob. I got my camera 2 years ago.

I got a 35mm fantastic plastic lens.

I'm thinking about getting the 50mm plastic fantastic lens.

I know with the K30 it's got the 1.5x crop from the sensor not being full frame. So... does that mean... my 35mm lens acts more like a 52.5mm lens? And will the 50mm lens act more like a 75mm?

I'm a little confused about how 1.5x crop sensor affects my focal lengths. So does this mean my 35mm lens is actually better for portrait photography for my K30?

12-14-2014, 12:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
It is correct but, since pentax doesn't have a full frame, you don't need to worry about conversion.
12-14-2014, 12:19 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, that is how they act. If you are looking at old film photos and the caption says 50mm the view is really. Close to the view you see with your 35/2.4.
12-14-2014, 12:24 PM   #4
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by flaviopetrone Quote
It is correct but, since pentax doesn't have a full frame, you don't need to worry about conversion.
Film cameras are full frame. :-)

"Crop factor" does not affect focal length only angle of view. :-)

Ronnie

12-14-2014, 12:27 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ronnies Quote
Film cameras are full frame. :-)

Ronnie
That's true!
I was talking about digital cameras only.
12-14-2014, 12:27 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter