Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-19-2015, 06:51 AM   #1

Very New to DSLR

Hi there, as the title indicates I'm new to the world of DSLR and photography in general. Some personal issues made it impossible to pursue my passion in dirt bike racing so I decided to pick up a camera and try to at least participate in racing at some level.

I have been reading as much as possible and learning what and where I can. I have a K-50 and overall I'm very happy with it. My only real concern is that when I have the dial in AV or TAV etc. the wheels to adjust aperture or iso etc. stop functioning after take a picture.

I don't know if this is by design but it's really frustrating to me as I make a lot of mistakes still and when I want to try a different focal length or iso I can't easily do it. Currently I simply turn the camera off wait a couple seconds and turn it back on but as you might assume, with dirt bikes, speed is kind of an important piece.

I apologize for any completely new statements I might have made but I truly am about as green as they come.

Thanks!

05-19-2015, 07:59 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
that happen to me to, it needs time to make adjustment, the only way you must learn by doing, just take your camera whenever you go, always do trial and error, shot what ever you want or interesting to you, in the end you will know what is good and what is not, if the wheels to adjust stop working and your camera is still under guarantee just take to service center, and repair it
05-19-2015, 08:43 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Have you tried to half-press the shutterbutton to cancel instant review?
05-19-2015, 08:53 AM   #4

Original Poster
mixberry thnx for the comments. sterretje, I had not tried the half-press. I just did though and it did not work. However your comment "to cancel instant review" made me try pressing "play" 2x and then I can adjust the settings again. That just doesn't seem right to me.