Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2015, 09:07 AM   #1

K-50 Vs K-S2

So I've been researching cameras for probably 4 months now. Trying to decide which DSLR to buy as my first camera (right now I use a Sony RX100M2) I thought I had decided on a Nikon D5300 but I had someone share some light about Pentax and now I'm won over. My problem is deciding between the K-50 and the K-S2. Budget wise the K-50 is where I want to stay but since the K-S2 is newer I'm wondering if I'm going to see significant differences in photos. The wifi and articulating screen of the K-S2 isn't really a huge deal if that's the only big price difference. Any insights?

10-29-2015, 09:41 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Don't use DPReview often but:
Side by Side Specifications Comparison

Also Welcome to the Forum!

Either camera is great and I love my K-50.
If you buy the cheaper K-50, more money for lenses!
10-29-2015, 09:48 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This is my standard answer regarding image quality:

In good light, the AA-less 20MP of the K-S1/2 gives a little more detail than the 16MP in the K-50. In poor light, the 20MP has a little more noise, but it is of the luminance variety (as opposed to false color), and easy to clean up in post-processing without loss of detail. Some have described the 20MP's noise as "film like", and considered it a plus. It depends on what kind of shooting you do, and how much 'post' you like to do.
10-29-2015, 09:50 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Other than the link posted above, you can check this out, as well: Pentax Cameras | Pentax K-S2 vs. Pentax K-50 - Pentax DSLR Comparison - PentaxForums.com