Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
12-04-2015, 02:26 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Setting RAW file format as default???

I am rather new at digital and totally new to the K-50. I haven't been able to find an answer to this question. I realize that there is a button on the left hand side of the camera that allows one to soot in RAW mode. However, is there a way to setup the internal software to shoot in RAW as the default for one of the custom user settings? I work with Lightroom and I bought a DSLR solely because of it's ability to shoot RAW.
Thank you in advance for any guidance.

12-04-2015, 02:37 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It's on page 142 of the English manual "Setting a File Format". In the record menu (the camera icon) hit "Image Capture Settings" and change the file format to "RAW". There's also a note that you have to make sure to turn off "Digital Filter" and "HDR Capture" or you can't change it to raw.

Since you're committed to raw, you might want to reprogram the RAW/Fx button to do something you'll use (page 167 of the English manual).

(an electronic version of the manual can be found here Support?RICOH IMAGING CANADA)
12-04-2015, 02:39 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Yes. Its in the menu settings under image capture settings. There is an option for RAW only & RAW+ which takes a RAW & a large jpeg image at the same time. That is what I use. The RAW+ setting.

I think you can also access it from the info button menu.
12-04-2015, 04:27 PM - 1 Like   #4

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I second The Squirrel Mafia. I used to shoot RAW only, but you cannot share RAW easily and I ended up doing in-camera processing. So, RAW+ coupled with a big memory card is a good way to go for a beginner. Besides that, you can always save those occasional so-so RAW files for further computer processing (you'll be surprised what the Pentax Laboratory software can do to improve those so-so shots).