Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2017, 01:32 PM   #511
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by enyaw Quote
some people really know their shit and I'm glad they are on this forum.
Im really glad too..we are here to help..

04-21-2017, 03:32 AM   #512
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Jeff Lopez Quote
I have a K30 with is not affected (yet) with around 10k shutter counts.Im not a engineer but Ive done some small electronics as a hobby. Now, usually circuits like boards and sensors have very low current requirements, which a single battery will suffice to supply,but electromechanical assemblies such as solenoids and stepper motors work on a burst current and due to space, that type of high current burst would be supplied by a low voltage high capacity capacitator. If you add a bright lcd, a flash, a solenoid actuator,shutter,etc that would tax a small battery, youll need a good capacitator, this is basic high current electronics, like high wattage audio equipment.
This is a common misunderstanding. Watts are a factor and people have a totally wrong view about it!
Watts (in audio gear) are NOT power, far from it! The double of of 1 Watt is 10 Watts and the double of 10Watts is 100Watts. But you are right about current, which is Amperes (or here mA).

This basically means, that if your speakers have an efficiency of lets say 90dB (1W/1m) you need 10W so they can deliver 96dB and 100W so they can deliver 102dB), and vice versa speakers with 96dB efficience need only 1W to deliver this volume (SPL), a speaker with an efficiency of 102dBs (hornspeakers for example) only 0.1W.

Watts are secondary, if important at all!

I think thats why most k30 issues can be temp fixed with AA batteries, as they supply more current than a camera battery. It is known that capacitators lose holding power as they get older and highly used.