Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-27-2016, 08:31 AM   #1

Which lens for Macro pictures

Hello Pentax fellows,

I'd like to invest in a macro lens for my Pentax K-30 but the more I read about the lenses the more confused I get. My budget would be of 300 but I could stretch to 350 if it does make a big difference but I am just an amateur enjoying photography.

In advance many thanks for your help.

Legonet

05-27-2016, 08:37 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Which subjects are you interested in?

Still-life and flowers etc. generally use shorter lenses like 28-35mm.

Insects need a bit more "reach" so you don't scare them. In that case the 100mm Pentax f2.8 lenses and the Tamron 90mm or Sigma 105mm are your best choices. They 're all good, you can look for a bargain. Also remember the used market - the Marketplace here is a great place to look for a bargain.
05-27-2016, 08:41 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

The Sigma 105mm Macro is a very good lens.

105 mm
f2.8
1:1 magnification ratio

It has approximate equivalents in Pentax and Tamron which are reputed to be as good if not better.
05-27-2016, 09:05 AM   #4
Site Supporter

You should be able to get a FA 100 macro for your budget. It's not weather-sealed but has a couple of advantages over the DFA version, specifically an aperture ring (useful if you want to combine with extension tubes) and a focus limiter if you're using autofocus. For true macro I'd go manual, but the 100 also makes a really nice short telephoto lens and the limiter is handy in those cases. BTW, it's a very sharp lens and I use it for bugs, flowers, random interesting macro stuff, slap extension tubes on for extreme magnification, short tele, particularly for landscapes (maybe too unflattering for portraits).

05-27-2016, 09:12 AM   #5
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
TER-OR ask the best question: what subjects are you after?