Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-28-2016, 07:27 AM   #1

Mirror flop/random triggering/lockup issue

Hello friends,
I'm a newbie, and not a camera expert. Bought a K-50 for wife 1year+ ago. Having an issue with random mirror flops, lockups etc. Stupidly, did not send the camera back when it was still under warranty. I came across a thread on the K-5 from several years ago, describing the same problem. https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/115-pentax-k-5/144309-k-5-bug-shutter-goi...itself-15.html Sounds like it might be a generic issue. Is there any hope of fixing this without sending the camera to Pentax for repair? Has the actual root issue ever been identified (from the discussion on the K-5 it sounded like Pentax had not really figured out the issue, and generally had to replace camera bodies to ultimately solve it). Was there perhaps a firmware upgrade that addressed it and I just missed that?
Thanks for any insights.

12-28-2016, 08:43 AM   #2

One of the firmware updates partially addressed the issue. Update to the latest version. Nobody seems very concerned about this problem any longer. All you hear about these days is the aperture block failure. Make sure your battery is full charged or fresh (AA) before starting the update.
12-28-2016, 08:55 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!!

QuoteOriginally posted by Soundside Quote
Sounds like it might be a generic issue. Is there any hope of fixing this without sending the camera to Pentax for repair?
No, what you describe is not a generic issue for the K-50. It has its own problems. The K-5 is quite different and distinct with few (no?) shared systems. If your wife's K-50 is not too far out of warranty, Ricoh/Pentax may still cover the cost of repair. Likewise, if by some chance you bought at Costco, they may be willing to accept a return as defective.