Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-30-2017, 09:17 PM   #1

New old-stock K-50

I found a new K-50 today at my local camera store (it's very sad, boxes and boxes of every other brand, but hardly any Pentax). It's actually a kit with the 18-55 and it is the equivalent of ~ $340 USD. I see them going for much more than that on Amazon.

Yes, I know it is a very old camera by now and will not stand up to today's camera but keep in mind I'm "upgrading" from a Canon EOS 450D (which is just getting trampled by any of my cell phones in just about any measure) and an old EOS M which has horrid focus speed, lousy battery life and is nearly unusable in bright sunlight (picked it up for chump change whilst working for a Canon subsidiary). I'm not a pro nor even a very good amateur

I do not have any Pentax lenses but I've been eyeing the K-70 or KP. The thought here is that I pick up this thing as a starter or 2nd body to beat around and save a bit of cash by just getting the newer body only. With some of he deals I see on a K-70, it's about the equivalent of me paying an extra $100 or so for a free K-50 body.

Really though, if it will beat my EOS 450D in image quality handily, that's already a win for me.

Any thoughts on this strategy?

12-30-2017, 09:26 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by EFats Quote
I found a new K-50 today at my local camera store (it's very sad, boxes and boxes of every other brand, but hardly any Pentax). It's actually a kit with the 18-55 and it is the equivalent of ~ $340 USD. I see them going for much more than that on Amazon.