Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-14-2019, 12:54 PM   #1

Focusing problems.

Hello. I have a K-50 kit camera. It comes with 2 lenses:a SMC Pentax-DA L 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR, and aSMC Pentax-DA L 50-200mm F4-5.6 ED WR.
I get the same results using either lens.

This camera has had very little use but I can't seem to get a good focus using either lens. It doesn't matter if I use it in manual focus or auto focus, the pictures come out with just a little blur in them.

I'm a newbie with DSLR cameras so if you have suggestions, make sure the directions are something I can understand...lolol

I have updated the firmware.

This camera did take great pictures when I first got it a few months ago, it didn't get much use during the winter months but now that I'd like to take some spring time pictures, the focus doesn't seem to want to zero in on my image.

I can manually adjust the focus from completely blurry to actually seeing the image, but it just doesn't get completely focused on whatever image I look at. And when I take the picture and look at it on my PC, the pictures are a bit out of focus.

I'd appreciate any help someone can offer.
Thanks,
Steve in Central Vermont

05-14-2019, 01:05 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would suggest putting the camera into live view on a tripod and see if it can get proper auto focus that way. It may be that the lenses need the auto focus fine adjustment, but if it can't focus in live view then there is a problem .
05-14-2019, 01:06 PM   #3
amateur dirt farmer / mod
Loyal Site Supporter

can you post some examples here so we can see what the issue is?
05-14-2019, 01:37 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

It could well be related to the camera mode/settings. Definitely post some sample shots (straight out of camera) and we'll gladly take a look.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)