Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
06-10-2023, 04:51 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Forum Member

K50 in 2023?

Hi,

I'm in the market for a budget Pentax camera. Currently, I'm using an Xpro 2 with a variety of Fujinon primes. But after selling my Pentax Q to fund my first fuji, Pentax never really left me. It was always there whispering in my ear like Voldermort calling out to Harry.

There has been a lot of K30 and K50's in my surrounding area with varying lens included, 18-55 and 50-200 or even the non-plm 55-300 I believe both the kit DA lenses which are perfect I don't plan on spending any more money on it as it would really be just a fun, trying-things-out kind of camera. I have had no experience with screw-type focus lenses. Would these perform just fine? I don't really mind the sound. I do have a couple of the FA plastic lenses which I think are still compatible to the camera and I love them for the light weight, internal zoom.

All in all, would you recommend this setup for the modern day?

What do you guys think about the DA 18-135? (I've had a horrible experience with the fuji 18-135)

Are the sigma alternative zooms any good?

Prices vary from an attractive £150-180

06-10-2023, 05:03 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Quite a number of K30 and K50 cameras suffer the aperture solenoid issue. If that does not scare you, then have at it.
See here for more information:
Manual solenoid replacement Pentax K30 / Discharge flash-condenser / Solenoid choice - PentaxForums.com
Detection of aperture block/diaphragm-block failure/stuck solenoid K-30, K-50, K500 - PentaxForums.com
06-10-2023, 05:31 AM   #3