Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-17-2010, 03:39 AM   #136
Forum Member

If there were to come a Pentax FF, it would of course retain full compatibility to A, F, FA, FA*, D FA glass and be able to use DA and DA* lenses. Everything else would be suicide.

Maybe it would even come with aperture coupling. Maybe it won't come at all. But if it comes, you will of course be able to use FA lenses on it, with full compatibility for screw-drive AF, auto aperture, EXIF data, etc.

07-17-2010, 04:10 AM   #137
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Winder Quote
I have been using the 5D (12MP) and E-3 (10MP) for several years and there are advantages to both in terms of IQ. With good light the high pixel density of the E-3 gives me more detail than the 5D. The 5D however gives me cleaner files and a more pleasing image "most" of the time.

I am not necessarily interested in ultimate detail as I am sharpness. As pixel density increases (and Pentax is going to increase it) then the shortcomings of the lenses will become more and more apparent.

Photozone ran two reviews of the Sigma 50mm f/1.4. One on an 8MP 350D and one one the 15MP 50D. The higher pixel density really challenged the Sigma lens.

"It's quite obvious that the lens has more trouble with the 15mp of the EOS 50D compared to our initial test based on the EOS 350D @ 8mp."

Sharpness plays a big role in how much an image "pops" and how how well a lens isolates the subject from the background. While the smaller APS-C sensor may not give you the shallow DoF of the full-frame, but with a really sharp lens (good focus), with great bokeh, you can achieve very good subject isolation.