Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-21-2010, 04:26 PM   #16
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with the idea of a separate screen. Personally I'm not that keen on swivelling screens for a number of reasons (including WR but also durability and the fact that there are always limitations anyway).

I'm a software developer and technically all the components to do a separate screen are there (except for the software that is). USB for the communications, an Android (growing fast, very cost effective and works well) and IPhone App for the screen. I think the resolution of the screen on latest phone devices is not much different to the typical camera screen. But the firmware in the camera needs the ability to communicate the screen for this to happen.

08-21-2010, 04:35 PM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

For macro, connect HDMI to your choice of display. It would be really cool to have HD goggles that ran off batteries.

Cheers, Mike.
08-21-2010, 07:03 PM   #18
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteQuote:
The only time I think that I might find a tilt swivel screen useful would be awkward macro shots on a tripod. Even then I think a larger screen with good viewing angles is better.
Over the crowd, over the wall, foot level, any kind of odd angle shot, and less obvious shooting in some instances.....

I put the rotating LCD in the dear Pentax thread, as well as a user- tunable leveling indicator.
08-21-2010, 08:01 PM   #19

I've been shooting a Nikon E5400 with a tilt/swivel LCD since 2005 and use it every single day I am shooting. With the bad knees I have, I find very valuable for shooting from low angle and overhead. I can also shoot from about any angle I want, even around corners.

Given similar specs between any cameras and having a tilt/swivel LCD is the only difference, the camera with the tilt/swivel LCD will get my vote.

08-21-2010, 08:26 PM   #20
wll
Veteran Member