Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
09-20-2010, 02:43 PM   #211

The fact that the K-5 doesn't have manual video controls is just heart-braking for me.

Before you start with the "you should have bought a Canon in the first place": I still use my camera primarily for photography, but ever since I bought the K-7 I've been more and more involved in film-making, and I am starting to get pretty serious about continuing in that direction. The problem is I am still a student and have invested all my money into K-mount lenses (doing most of my photography on the film Super-A body) and switching systems would cost way to much for my budget and I would end up with lenses not nearly as suited for movie work as the old manual focus lenses I own and love so much (which I would have to sell way below what they're worth for my work).

I've been saving for the successor to the K-7 for a half a year now, naturally expecting that it would have full manual video control.

It's probably the simplest and cheapest upgrade they could have made and it would have made a WORLD of difference to any potential buyers who use a lot of video.

I would gladly pay to upgrade from the K-7 even if the only thing new about the K-5 was manual video control. Every single competing DSLR, and even cameras half the price have this feature.

I really am truly gutted and sad. This could seriously impede my ability to advance in my new hobby/potential career choice and make things difficult for me.

Serves me right for expecting what is apparently too much.