Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
09-22-2010, 01:13 AM   #316
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Kenn100D Quote

K-5 with Mic
QuoteOriginally posted by CaymanImaging Quote
The K5 looks nice. I skipped the K7 waiting for something AWESOME. While it looks nice, I'm still not sold on it yet mainly because I want to hear reviews from production models and then I'll make up my mind. More than likely I will get it.

Anyhow, I did voice OUR concerns for simple upgrades that could be made (I think) via software to Pentax USA in an email. I doubt that I'll get answer from them as I'm still waiting for tech help that I emailed a month ago. Their customer service just sucks

Here's what I wrote them:

"I am a professional photographer using all Pentax gear (K20D). I skipped the K7 waiting for the K5. But as a pro, I'm not overly excited about it. My biggest problem is lack of tethering. I highly suggest that Pentax look at all the complaints on The Largest Pentax Camera & Photography Forum - Pentax News & Rumors - PentaxForums.com Home and try to please some of us with updates that could be done with software updates. I don't want to go to a new brand, but may start thinking about it."
I wrote several letters (including one traditional letter) regarding some of the failings of the K20D (what I consider an almost perfect camera). I was especially incensed that they missed the mark again (with the K7) by ignoring the simplest programming tweak of allowing DFS to be turned off. I mentioned many of the other common issues as well (including tethering).

Only one of my emails received a reply and the response regarding DFS was that it was necessary to produce the best possible image. Pentax completely ignored or did not understand my explanation why forced DFS make these cameras useless for exposures longer than 8 seconds (on K20D).