Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-24-2010, 10:18 AM - 1 Like   #76
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by abacus07 Quote
I don't think there is one person that wouldn't want a bigger aperture in a lens if there weren't other tradeoffs. But the end users that you described usually want something to be as portable as possible. And in a lot cases they are also outdoors where they are stopping it down anyway.
Like I said earlier, I guess it depends who's shooting. I'm sure there are plenty of people who would gladly give up the f/2.8 to have a smaller package. And in a perfect world, they would make both lenses and we could all be happy. I would probably even want both. But from my perspective as a pro, I would gladly take a hit on size, weight and cost to have the capabilities of f/2.8 at that focal length. That's not to say that I wouldn't sometimes want a smaller version. That's why there is the Canon 16-35/2.8, and 17-40/4; and I know quite a few people have both. But all in all, if I could only have one, I would rather have the faster, bigger lens. But something I've found from my experience shooting professionally, and I found the same thing to be true when I was an auto mechanic, is that 90% of the jobs can be pulled off with 10% of the skills, knowledge and equipment that there is. Being pro is about having the other 90% of the skills, knowledge and equipment to pull off the other 10% of the jobs. I think that's most likely true of just about anything.

12-24-2010, 11:45 AM   #77
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by FullertonImages Quote
But from my perspective as a pro, I would gladly take a hit on size, weight and cost to have the capabilities of f/2.8 at that focal length.
Ben,