Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-03-2013, 07:42 AM   #1921
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Fogel70 Quote
Except for complete newbies, I have never heard of anyone believing a lens change focal length depending on sensor size.
Except Olympus. I have a 4/3 long zoom somewhere that has the focal length stamped but the adjusted focal length on a sticker.

06-03-2013, 08:14 AM   #1922
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by VoiceOfReason Quote
When I was a complete newb people on another forum led me to believe that a 20mm lens was really a 30mm lens on ASPC (I was looking at the Sigma 30 f/1.4 and the Sigma 20 f/1.8) unless the lens was made specifically for ASPC, then it would be the focal length advertized. So, I was led to believe the Sigma 20mm f/1.8 (works for full frame) would give me the EXACT same FOV that the Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Yeah, I actually believed it at the time. Thankfully I'm older and wiser now!
Yeah, this kind of story is very familiar to me. I was lucky to learn the basics from books, before this nonsense started; but I saw experienced people explaining this BS to beginners, which were falling in this trap.
They weren't able to say what's the focal length of a 50mm lens, when it's unmounted - or why wouldn't they compute the BS equivalent if cropping on a computer.
06-03-2013, 10:04 AM   #1923
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by VoiceOfReason Quote
When I was a complete newb people on another forum led me to believe that a 20mm lens was really a 30mm lens on ASPC (I was looking at the Sigma 30 f/1.4 and the Sigma 20 f/1.8) unless the lens was made specifically for ASPC, then it would be the focal length advertized. So, I was led to believe the Sigma 20mm f/1.8 (works for full frame) would give me the EXACT same FOV that the Sigma 30mm f/1.4. Yeah, I actually believed it at the time. Thankfully I'm older and wiser now!