Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 23 Likes Search this Thread
04-07-2012, 09:27 PM   #61
Veteran Member

Don't expect the Pentax-USA (or any other division's) CEO or PR chief or other senior officer to take questions from members here. They have other jobs -- they manage, and delegate. It would be nice if PFC had an ASK PENTAX forum similar to ASK B&H, where questions can be raised, but are only answered by authorized folks, like corporate and PFC staff. I'd expect the corporate assignment to go to a junior PR worker as punishment.

Don't expect senior corporate officers to blog about substantive corporate issues. About other stuff, sure, but nothing that impacts the firm. My experience: I was a software engineer in the systems division of a rather major insurance company (non-healthcare). The systems chief, a really nice guy, 'blogged' 1980s-style: he wrote a weekly column for the local newspaper. He did not discuss the company. He wrote about the region, community activities, business in general, etc. But he wasn't tasked to reveal new insurance products.

Our PFC community, especially here in Pentax-USA-land, seems manic-depressive. Hoya is ruining Pentax, boo-hoo... Ricoh will save Pentax, huzzah! Oh no, Ricoh is ruining Pentax -- bring back the Hoya-era prices! Whatever Pentax-Ricoh management does is aimed at ME, boo-hoo... Ricoh will make Pentax develop game-changing products, huzzah! [/me makes rude noise] Ah, c'mon folks, get over it! Don't expect comforting answers to pointed questions. Don't expect words. Expect actions. Let's see how this shakes out.

04-07-2012, 09:33 PM   #62
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Jean Poitiers Quote
At least in Europe, the Pentax management seems to be able to not repeatedly shoot themselves in the foot ... they seem to keep a rather tight lip. Wonder why?

A+, J
Quite simpel, we got a different management for each country almost, there is not one large EU office.