Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 22 Likes Search this Thread
09-12-2012, 06:38 PM   #196
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by bossa Quote
1. I have a Degree in Fine Art
I always considered that a certified opinion, or a degree in unemployment. Though the rest of that list implies to me that you are more of an experienced artist than most to be sure.

I like to enjoy the creative atmosphere of the art world but if you stacked up all the ego an conflicting strong opinion there it would collapse into a black hole.

I think for the K5 II we can agree that its not what we expected or hoped for and as such we are pissed, but its a clear improvement on the few weak points of an already amazing camera. Considering the current new release price will drop a few hundred soon, it is basically priced exactly the same as the K5 before they started trying to sweep the old model off the shelves to make room for this one.
So what we are getting is a "fixed" K5 for the same money, something for people who already have a K5 to be pissed about since there's nothing for them really worth upgrading to considering what an "old" K5 will now be worth used, but something for the rest of the people who were debating a K5 anyways to be happy about.

I wouldn't worry about Pentax as a corporation just yet, Ricoh is quickly discovering that they were dropped onto a running treadmill and they haven't had time to get their pace going yet (Pentax was honestly a mess by that point), but they aren't on the floor either. Buying a company like Nikon would allow the incoming owners to immediately steer the course they wanted and develop new stuff quickly, with something like what was left of Pentax you have a lot of cleaning and sanding to do before you can decide what color paint you want and start with the new.

09-12-2012, 06:55 PM   #197
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by mee Quote