Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2012, 08:25 AM   #76
Veteran Member

My offhand guess is that Ricoh will eventually push Pentax into the professional space with a full support network that basically extends Ricoh's existing support network for office equipment. (I'm not a pro photographer, but I've hung around this forum and others for long enough to know that professionals need a support ecosystem, not just a line of FF bodies and lenses.)

10-04-2012, 11:59 AM   #77
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Clavius Quote
Yes, that by itself already is a good reason enough to stick around to see what Pentax Ricoh Imaging will deliver next.

I seriously dislike the idea of lensors though. (Like in the GXR.) Glass is forever, cameras get replaced every 2 years, mostly because of new sensors. Not being able to change the sensor would seriously suck.
the true genius of the GXR is the idea of interchangeable mounts.

I agree tying a lens to a sensor forever sounds bad, but in some instances it makes sense as a system, like carrying a high-zoom compact, and a specialized APS-C pocket prime at the same time with the same controls/body. obviously the prospect of having an M-mount or a K-mount and their respective lenses is a uniquely flexible one. at this point it's reverse, replacing the sensor/mount module every 2 years would be much cheaper than buying entirely new camera bodies...

Last edited by illdefined; 10-04-2012 at 12:05 PM.
10-04-2012, 12:10 PM   #78
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Clavius Quote
Yes, that by itself already is a good reason enough to stick around to see what Pentax Ricoh Imaging will deliver next.

I seriously dislike the idea of lensors though. (Like in the GXR.) Glass is forever, cameras get replaced every 2 years, mostly because of new sensors. Not being able to change the sensor would seriously suck.
a K-mount module would help with that.