Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-20-2014, 12:09 PM   #91
Pentaxian
D1N0's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: ---
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,612
QuoteOriginally posted by ElJamoquio Quote
Honestly I'm not going to purchase a non-AF lens at or above 50mm.

Actually it is harder to focus with a wide angle mf than with a tele.

08-20-2014, 12:48 PM   #92
Site Supporter




Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,892
QuoteOriginally posted by D1N0 Quote
Actually it is harder to focus with a wide angle mf than with a tele.
To get precise focus, yes.

A lot of the time, when I use a 200mm lens, I want a given 5 cm to be in focus.

A lot of the time, when I use a 20mm lens, I want a given 50,000 cm to be in focus.
08-20-2014, 03:44 PM   #93
Site Supporter
stevebrot's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver (USA)
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 26,190
QuoteOriginally posted by D1N0 Quote
schrödingers cat. Is it alive or is it dead. It's both!
...in or out of box or what box?! (Vivitar, Rokinon, Samyang, Bower, <put your name here>...)


Steve

---------- Post added 08-20-14 at 03:46 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by ElJamoquio Quote
Honestly I'm not going to purchase a non-AF lens at or above 50mm.
You would do well to not purchase an AF lens with an f/1.2 maximum aperture regardless of focal length. No current dSLR has an AF system capable of precise performance with a lens that fast.


Steve
08-21-2014, 04:12 PM   #94
Pentaxian
Na Horuk's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Slovenia, probably
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 10,325
QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
You would do well to not purchase an AF lens with an f/1.2 maximum aperture regardless of focal length. No current dSLR has an AF system capable of precise performance with a lens that fast.
Yep. And the stock focusing screen might also be inaccurate, so its best to buy a third party focusing screen specifically for fast primes

08-21-2014, 05:05 PM   #95
Site Supporter




Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,892
QuoteOriginally posted by Na Horuk Quote
Yep. And the stock focusing screen might also be inaccurate, so its best to buy a third party focusing screen specifically for fast primes
Already done. Plus I have live view.
08-21-2014, 05:46 PM   #96
Pentaxian
Digitalis's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide.
Posts: 8,535
QuoteOriginally posted by Na Horuk Quote
And the stock focusing screen might also be inaccurate, so its best to buy a third party focusing screen specifically for fast primes
I have been using the stock screen and the SMCP-K 50mm f/1.2 without problem - though I will admit the O-ME3 viewfinder magnifier has been an indispensable accessory.
08-21-2014, 07:16 PM   #97
Site Supporter




Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,892
Got that too. I don't think it matters that much, but it helps a tiny bit.
08-22-2014, 12:41 AM   #98
Pentaxian
thibs's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Photos: Albums
Posts: 5,161
Ah, I don't think I'll need to change the default screen of all those manual focus Pentaxes I use
Oh I could even use it on my DSLR ! (yeah, I know perspective is a bit different for me).

08-22-2014, 04:24 AM   #99
Pentaxian
Digitalis's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide.
Posts: 8,535
The other reason why I don't change my focusing screen is because third party ones nearly always mess with spot metering - which I use quite a bit.
08-22-2014, 04:47 AM   #100
Pentaxian
thibs's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Photos: Albums
Posts: 5,161
QuoteOriginally posted by Digitalis Quote
The other reason why I don't change my focusing screen is because third party ones nearly always mess with spot metering - which I use quite a bit.
I admit, this is also a reason (for my DSLRs). I now always use a spotmeter with the 4x5 cameras so I have problems with anything but spot when doing serious work.
Of course I can use the spotmeter but well... that would a shame
08-22-2014, 05:26 AM   #101
Pentaxian
Digitalis's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Adelaide.
Posts: 8,535
QuoteOriginally posted by thibs Quote
I now always use a spotmeter with the 4x5 cameras so I have problems with anything but spot when doing serious work.
I use spotmeters for my 8X10 and 4X5 cameras too.
08-22-2014, 05:32 AM   #102
Pentaxian
D1N0's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: ---
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,612
My focussing screen was front focussed. Very frustrating when shooting manually. Good enough for AF, pentax must have thought. Putting in a katzeye did not help except for front focussing more accurately. I had to replace the shim under (really above) the focussing screen for a thinner one. I find that the split prism is not very accurate. Too hard to see whether it is perfectly aligned. The micro prisms work better. More often then not I just focus around the entire inner circle on the matte... For a 1.2 lens i might get one of those canon screens with more accurate DOF rendering (I believe it is about F2 instead of F2.8).
08-22-2014, 06:33 AM   #103
Pentaxian
thibs's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Photos: Albums
Posts: 5,161
QuoteOriginally posted by Digitalis Quote
I use spotmeters for my 8X10 and 4X5 cameras too.
I wouldn't have thought you'd use anything else

---------- Post added 22-08-14 at 14:34 ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by D1N0 Quote
My focussing screen was front focussed. Very frustrating when shooting manually. Good enough for AF, pentax must have thought. Putting in a katzeye did not help except for front focussing more accurately. I had to replace the shim under (really above) the focussing screen for a thinner one. I find that the split prism is not very accurate. Too hard to see whether it is perfectly aligned. The micro prisms work better. More often then not I just focus around the entire inner circle on the matte... For a 1.2 lens i might get one of those canon screens with more accurate DOF rendering (I believe it is about F2 instead of F2.8).
That's too bad
I guess modern DSLRs really aren't made for manual focus anymore at all.
08-22-2014, 07:43 AM   #104
Pentaxian
D1N0's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Location: ---
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 3,612
I could use live view of course, but it is a bit laggy and I am just not used to it. Focus peaking is not very well implemented on the K-5 yet (zooming in, loosing your view on composition). Zoom out again and you are sure to have lost your focus unless working on a tripod. A well i'll just wait for the FF or get a Sony A7 for my manual glass.
08-22-2014, 07:59 AM   #105
Pentaxian
carrrlangas's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cottbus (Berlin)
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 1,738
QuoteOriginally posted by Digitalis Quote
The other reason why I don't change my focusing screen is because third party ones nearly always mess with spot metering - which I use quite a bit.
Do you have experience with the Canon EE-S screen? does it affect spot metering, I got used to it quite a bit too.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
50mm, af, art, f1.2, f1.4, focus, front, lens, light, otus, pentax news, pentax rumors, purchase, samyang, screen, sigma, steve, stop, zeiss
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trip to Africa in 2014 - what lens/camera? audiodoc Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 71 02-22-2013 09:41 PM
Portait lens - Pentax 50mm f1.2 (K version) or Samyang 85mm f1.4 Damon Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 17 01-21-2013 01:35 AM
Rikenon 50 f1.7 (P/K) vs Super Takumar 50 f1.4 (M42), which is better? fanofcc Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 15 09-15-2012 11:58 AM
Samyang 24mm f1.4 kevinschoenmakers Pentax News and Rumors 46 08-19-2011 08:23 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top