Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 146 Likes Search this Thread
04-04-2013, 06:18 PM   #616
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Siince I'm not a pro I cannot say with authority whether a, say, wedding photographer can be more productive set-up-to-print with FF vs. APSc (and professional total throughput productivity should be the "ruling grade" in the decision) but as an interested and enthusiastic amateur I can say that I will rarely have a need to make a shot on a FF that I couldn't make K5 (or K3) APSc. Since I rarely print at all and never print for art or print sale I don't need the files either.

But I sure would (will?) enjoy a large viewfinder. If the Pentax offering has a feature set similar to a K5, though, I won't spend the money. It has to be truly top line and uncrippled.

Last edited by monochrome; 04-04-2013 at 07:14 PM.
04-04-2013, 07:01 PM   #617
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by monochrome Quote
But I sure would (will?) enjoy a large viewfinder
Therein lies a truly significant 'want' that in itself is a good reason for many enthusiasts to invest in a FF system.
Whether we 'need' the output differences or not over the APS-C output is another thing that has been debated ad nauseum without a unanimous advantage. Personal preference prevails, but there is no doubt, even just from a recent poll on what enthusiasts want on this forum alone (and it can be extrapolated to the general Pentaxian community), that a FF dSLR from Pentax would be invested in by a good proportion of customers.
04-04-2013, 08:30 PM   #618
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Medium FormatPro Quote
That lens; and about fifty others in PK that are currently being marketed are in fact full frame - now.
It is not about the availability of lenses, but about allowing Pentax to profit not only from camera sales but also from lens sales.

QuoteOriginally posted by goubejp Quote