Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2013, 10:23 AM - 1 Like   #196
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Kunzite Quote
I don't think I'm missing anything; on the contrary.
Being a software engineer, I'm thinking this issue in terms of: issue -> fix. The first issue as you presented, is the lack of long lens products. The fix can only be "adding long lens products" to their range; which is work in progress. The second issue is the small market share; and obviously, the fix is: "increase market share". The fix must specifically address the issue, otherwise you either don't understand the issue or you're fixing something else.

Going for another markets, abandoning their traditional users is not a solution for these issues. In fact, it would only make them worse.
Lol, the answer you're missing is stay away from FF. Don't go there, don't be crushed by two players hugely stronger than Pentax, at least until you work out how to do more than milk a rather overmilked userbase. "Adding long lens products" is not a work in progress at all so far as I can see. Apart from the DA 560mm, which is a trophy product, it's not happening and hasn't happened since the film era. Increasing sales has nothing to do with "abandoning" traditional users but with reaching out beyond them since traditional users are a shrinking pool and not enough to support Ricoh's stated goals for growth. Honestly, I think a lot of the FF stuff on here is more or less urging Pentax to blow themselves up. Pentax need new sales from new customers to thrive. I think many of those new customers might like things like wifi, killer in-camera software, apps, touchscreen systems and so forth. I just don't think they want to spend $2000 or more buying grandpappy's conservative camera all over again.

03-12-2013, 10:28 AM   #197
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteQuote: