Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 134 Likes Search this Thread
06-25-2014, 12:06 PM   #946
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Edgar_in_Indy Quote
Why the sarcasm? Isn't it possible that they're both great lenses?

Beautiful pictures BTW.
Not sarcastic, just honest. I just am not someone who is great at analyzing the differences in bokeh, particularly in different settings. I am sure I would be satisfied with the Sigma 85mm too -- except for the extra length. I actually prefer 55mm on APS-C.

06-25-2014, 12:22 PM   #947
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
Not sarcastic, just honest.
This statement sounded very sarcastic to me:
QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
But then again, I'm not a professional, so I probably don't know what I'm talking about.
If you weren't trying to be sarcastic, then I apologize.
06-26-2014, 06:51 AM   #948
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

This statement sounded very sarcastic to me:

If you weren't trying to be sarcastic, then I apologize.
It's OK. I just have a lot of trouble comparing bokeh between completely different lighting situations/backgrounds. My photos really don't prove anything except that the 77 in a couple of situations can be sharp and renders out of focus areas OK. As I said, I would probably be happy with the Sigma 85mm and wouldn't really notice any difference with regard to bokeh. I'm sure I would like it if Pentax ever comes out with a full frame camera, as I really like the 55mm focal length on APS-C.
06-26-2014, 06:56 AM   #949
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by VoiceOfReason Quote
Has anyone received a shipping notice on it yet?

I have not. But I did get a "Not in stock" notification from B&H. Of course that could change any day now (hopefully).

06-26-2014, 11:35 PM   #950
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by scole Quote