Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 16 Likes Search this Thread
07-12-2013, 09:08 AM - 3 Likes   #16
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
@Everyone (rather than half a dozen Multi-quotes): I have no earthly idea what is going on.

I'm just an amateur photographer in the midwest USA with a few 40-year-old film camera bodies and some lenses. I don't even make the correct buying decisions - I need a lesson in Behavioral Economics so I'm nudged to stop buying K-01's full price pre-order and three Q's because they're only $189 when I actually only release a shutter two or three dozen times a week. I mean, jeez, what horrible economic decisions to have $10,000 worth of legacy photographic equipment when I could have a Sony Nex-something for just a few hundred. Maybe the Adminsitration can get people like me a workshop or something.

OTOH, unless we are convinced the 279th largest corporation on earth is made up of ignoramuses who know nothing about how to make things, market them and earn profits doing it, there has to be a rational, positive explanation for this behavior.

Maybe they're teaching Pentax people how they became the 279th largest corporation on earth. I mean, really, Pentax has done such a great job growing its market, marketing its products, leading the industry and all that since the days of the screwmount, right? 2010 didn't happen overnight.

Maybe they're converting excess B2B (office machine) manufacturing space to camera and accessory manufacturing space. Takes time.

Or maybe, just maybe, the laws of compounding tell us that 15% growth from a tiny base is insignificant - nearly invisible - so at first people wonder what the He** is going on - but your revenue doubles every 5th year. Then doubles again. Then doubles again.

Then - WOW - 15% growth is some real numbers!!! Look at that! Pentax!!! Number three with a Bullet -> !! Who'da thunk???