Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
09-16-2013, 10:06 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
FWIW, I've been a photographer for over 50 years (not necessarily a good photographer, but certainly a keen one). All that time, I have been very interested in the gear side of things, suffering (or rather, enjoying) a chronic case of CBA and LBA, like many on this forum. But, I have never, ever been to a camera show, and I don't think I'm untypical in this. I am left to wonder just how relevant they are to the average camera/lens buyer who make up the majority of photographic consumers. I know that the shows attract the photographic press, who then report back and can, I imagine, influence some buying decisions, but if there's nothing new there, what's to report? Many companies announcements of new products do not coincide with camera shows (Photokina being a possible exception). Surely, there are other and more cost-effective ways of marketing products, and we should not be too worried about who has the biggest and bestest booths at these shows.

Having said all that, I don't claim to have the insight of some posters, who are much more knowledgeable than I, so I could be wrong.

09-16-2013, 11:43 PM   #17
Banned

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Cynog Ap Brychan Quote