Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-12-2014, 12:01 PM - 3 Likes   #76

New guy here (ex-Canon), but I wanted to let the Pentax crowd know this lens is superb so far! I ordered it from B&H on 4/9 and just got it 4/11. I see B&H is back to pre-order as of 4/12 (what happened there?), but below is my initial review and thoughts. FYI, I've been shooting DSLR since 2003 and film from 1991-2004, so this is no greenhorn talking, but at the same time I am not an official reviewer by any means.

All exaggeration aside, my preliminary day and night shots are fantastic. Vignetting is acceptable at wide open, but stopping to f/7 quickly erases this. I see very minimal, if any, CA across the aperture range. Samyang's UMC and NCS are no gimmick. The bokeh is nice and soft. To be fare, I still need to put this lens through a rugged photo outing to check for consistency, but the 63 photos for now indicate this is a serious bargain and worth every dollar, hence the preliminary 5 star rating.

Best of all, this is a rectilinear lens, not a fisheye! There is no heavy pincushion distortion on the borders. Landscapers like me appreciate power poles and buildings that do not bend on the periphery of the image or need post-processing to correct.

I didn't expect this lens to have an aperture ring, but for the Pentax you simply turn this ring to "A" (auto) and have full electronic aperture control from the camera. The manual focus ring has just enough resistance, but if you're clumsy you could certainly bump this out of focus. I do wish infinity focus was a hard stop, but this is nitpicking as most lenses are the same. The protective lens cover/cap is a bit flimsy, but does stay in place. However, I wonder how well this cover would remain intact if the lens fell just 3 feet?