Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2014, 10:41 AM   #16

This reminds me of 1980's

I'm new to the DSLR world buying my first DSLR (Pentax K-50) last February. However I'm not new to photography. I owned a Minolta SR201 in the late 70's. It was a great quality camera that lasted me for many, many years.

Back then the big players were, surprise, surprise, Nikon and Canon. Nikon was known as the top of the line. Pentax, Minolta and Olympus were the secondary players.

Nikon road their reputation among pros but Canon, in an effort to join Nikon at the top. went on a huge advertising blitz staring, in my recollection, a celebrity endorsements from Andre Aggasi.

I'll always remember a trusted local photo store owner in the early 1980's, who sold a lot of Canon, tell me "the reason the Canons cost more is because you are paying for the camera and all this advertising you see in the store, on billboards and on tv. These other cameras are just as good, some are better, for less cost.

As a market professional that is my take on what I see today. I used some Canon DSLR's the last couple of years and was set to purchase something like the Tsi3 or 5 until I did my research and found that for less money I could get a K-50 that was weather sealed, had built in OS, two roller wheels so I can adjust both aperture and shutter while composing and just felt really good in my hand. I couldn't be happier with the decision.

That is the benefit of not blowing huge amounts of capital on marketing. It provides the opportunity for Pentax to give you more for less money.

On the other side I suspect that their strategy may be to make a bigger margin on aftermarket sales of lens', flashes, etc.

Lack of prolific advertising doesn't mean that they are on their last gasping breath. It just mean they have a different strategy.

05-19-2014, 10:53 AM   #17
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums