Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2014, 01:45 PM   #691
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by thibs Quote
I'd be very surprised at the dual processor thingie.
More info if anybody finds out would be nice
(asahi man)

11-20-2014, 03:17 PM   #692
Veteran Member

I'd be very surprised at the dual processor thingie.
I am no chip expert, but I remember reading that there was some limitation in the Fujitsu Milbeaut image processor achitecture that made it impractical to 'chain' several of them together to boost performance - ie have two PRIME chips working together. Same limitation confronts Nikon, who also use Milbeaut, so you do not see dual EXPEED chips running on any of their bodies either. Unlike Canon, where their DIGIC chips can run together to boost camera performance, as seen in the 7D, 7D2, 1D IV, 1Dx and other Canon bodies, which all feature dual DIGICs.
11-20-2014, 05:05 PM   #693
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by rawr Quote
I am no chip expert, but I remember reading that there was some limitation in the Fujitsu Milbeaut image processor achitecture that made it impractical to 'chain' several of them together to boost performance - ie have two PRIME chips working together. Same limitation confronts Nikon, who also use Milbeaut, so you do not see dual EXPEED chips running on any of their bodies either. Unlike Canon, where their DIGIC chips can run together to boost camera performance, as seen in the 7D, 7D2, 1D IV, 1Dx and other Canon bodies, which all feature dual DIGICs.
The "limitation" could be as simple as the signals (connectors) made available to the circuit designer. For example, when Intel designed the 8086, the basis of all the Wintel computers, they specifically provided the signals needed to gracefully enable multi-processor designs; other processor families, not so much.
11-20-2014, 06:10 PM   #694
Site Supporter
Site Supporter