Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2014, 06:25 AM   #1606
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Buckaroo50 Quote
No I do not have any misconceptions about pixel size. I am not an expert but I do read what experts have to say. If pixel size was not a factor then I guess all full frame cameras would have the same pixel size as a point and shoot. What can hold more a 5 gallon pail or a 50 gallon barrel. Larger pixels can obtain more data to make the processing more accurate.
What can hold more, a 50 gallon barrel or 10 5 gallon pails?
I see two obstacles to increase pixel count to match compact's densities:
- processing requirement for amazingly huge resolutions (over 200MP)
- people having to trade "per-pixel sharpness" for oversampling.

10-01-2014, 07:33 AM   #1607
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Kunzite Quote
What can hold more, a 50 gallon barrel or 10 5 gallon pails?
I see two obstacles to increase pixel count to match compact's densities:
- processing requirement for amazingly huge resolutions (over 200MP)
- people having to trade "per-pixel sharpness" for oversampling.
...the third and technically most difficult to solve being heat dissipation.
10-01-2014, 07:53 AM   #1608
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I think it looks like a fine camera. Cost is a little high for launch, but probably will drop down pretty quickly. I would be surprised if they can't sell this camera for a profit at 500 dollars, but they'll sell it for whatever price they can get for it.