Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 36 Likes Search this Thread
09-16-2014, 04:05 PM   #196
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by johnmflores Quote
In the game as cameras as sport, yes. In the game of "I need tools to take photographs", Pentax has served me well, and where there are gaps I have filled them with other brands.
I have been shooting multiple systems for many years. I still consider myself between brands, but I have been looking for somewhere to land for the last few years. I was using an Olympus E-3 and sold out when it became obvious that 4/3 was dead even though Olympus said publicly that they would continue to develop for the 4/3 platform. I bought my Contax 645 9 months before Contax tanked. Contax has served me well over the years as well, but I wont be buying more Contax gear. What they did for me yesterday is not what I'm worried about. Its about the future.

Sony just went their entire Photokina roll-out presentation without a single mention of the A-mount system or future. Not a single slide on A-mount. They are selling a lot more A7 series bodied than A99 bodies. IS A-mount dead? You would have to be crazy to buy into A-mount right now which might be good for Pentax, but Pentax needs to show they are moving forward, and not stagnating. The industry is changing very fast. Just a few months ago Sony was planning on introducing new SSM versions of the CZ 85 & 135 lenses that work with the A99 tracking AF-D. Those lenses are no where to be seen right now.