Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 414 Likes Search this Thread
04-30-2015, 07:12 AM - 1 Like   #571
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Rondec Quote
For most people shooting a lens like this, with or without stabilization, a steady tripod is a must. I just don't know how many people would really stick a lens this size on their camera and go for a walk in the woods, expecting to come away with some decent shots. I'd have to work out a lot before I could do something like that and the experience wouldn't be particularly enjoyable, even then.
300 and up I HAVE TO use a monopod for mobile shooting. For stationary shooting when the subject is mobile (Nature) I HAVE TO use a tripod and gimbal head.

Sure, I'm old and I'm not a pro and I'm not really any good at this - but then, how many truly full-time, professional, 1000+-clicks-a-day shooters are there? Surely not enough to sell very many long lenses.

04-30-2015, 07:14 AM   #572
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
i think they just made sure that every lens is perfect for the first run. It needs to attract pros and you can't have failures haunting you
04-30-2015, 07:16 AM   #573
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I guess the thing that I have not understood is why Pentax prices their lenses (without image stabilization) the same as Canon/Nikon do (with image stabilization). To me, one of the benefits of having image stabilization in the body is that you should get a little price break, in that you don't have to pay for IS in each lens. Canon and Nikon charge quite a bit extra for image stabilization, but Pentax doesn't charge any less because they don't have to design it into the lens.
Perhaps they invest the ILIS cost-saving in some other feature/benefit. Maybe IQ - we'll just have to wait and see.
04-30-2015, 07:20 AM - 1 Like   #574

QuoteOriginally posted by jpstanisic Quote