Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 69 Likes Search this Thread
10-06-2015, 11:16 AM   #256

QuoteOriginally posted by Qwntm Quote
It's not THAT subjective.

I picked up a 3500 or 5500 at Best Buy one day and spent about 10 minutes trying to figure out how to adjust the shutter and aperture in manual mode. I've been a pro photographer for over 30 years. THAT's a BAD INTERFACE. Nothing subjective about that.

On the other hand, the D810 is almost as good as a K5...
10 minutes is the perfect amount of time to get extremely frustrated with ANY camera that is slightly foreign to you.

Believe it or not, but pretty much ALL of the major brand beginner cameras have had only one command dial for about 10 years now. The annoying-ness with which you change aperture and shutter in manual mode is present in all of those budget cameras, both Canon and Nikon.

For anyone who has been using such cameras at all in the last decade, then, it eventually does become a no-brainer / second nature type thing, by the way. All you have to do is shoot with the camera for 10 days, instead of 10 minutes.

---------- Post added 10-06-15 at 11:22 AM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by derekkite Quote
I rarely go into the menus when I'm shooting. I've got the user modes set up for a variety of shooting situations, the other modes keep the last settings, and buttons change the things I need to change on the fly.

Do any of the others need menu access for common shooting adjustments?