Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2015, 05:56 PM   #421
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Edgar_in_Indy Quote
But if the lens had a rotation sensor, as discussed above.
QuoteOriginally posted by biz-engineer Quote
What lenses really need is a step motor.... the camera would do a calibration routine when the lens is mounted for the first time, then the AF servo would be able to control the position of the focus element in real time and the AF would be spot on every time. It looks like Canon implemented that in their STM lenses.
For a couple of years, I was a software developer at a company that makes medical lab equipment. We found that the routines involved in precisely locating a test tube (to put something in it, for example) could move the mechanism much faster when the mechanism could report on where it had actually gone to (before we had to run the stepper motors more slowly to make sure they went where we told them to go).

10-03-2015, 08:22 PM   #422
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Reh321, I just noticed that you're also from Indiana. That's at least four Hoosiers participating in this thread now. (Me, you, Rondec, and VoiceofReason). Kinda funny.
10-03-2015, 09:58 PM   #423

Am here also, checkin in faithfully and almost daily… but will admit I get put-off by the level of pessimism and disputing around here these days.

Loved the level of enthusiasm back when I joined in the ole K-5 days

Am always anxious for more juicy Pentax news of exciting product announcements. Much too busy to input as I wish- but always appreciating everyone else's contribution pics they post on the other threads.

Edit *** Just realized I'm kinda only a half-Hoosier… guess that might make me a Hoser then, Oh well go figure LOL!!

Last edited by One3rdEV; 10-03-2015 at 10:03 PM. Reason: a little bit of humor
10-03-2015, 11:27 PM   #424
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by derekkite Quote