Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 570 Likes Search this Thread
02-24-2016, 12:15 PM - 1 Like   #541

QuoteOriginally posted by wkraus Quote
Did I get that right? You do hope Pentax/Ricoh starts shipping cameras with unfinished, rough&ready or buggy firmware?
As a photographer, I'd rather get my K-1 soon and download a simple firmware update a few months down the road for video.

Perhaps Pentax will take a page out of Fuji's handbook - even updating older gen cameras to create a longer lasting product.

02-24-2016, 12:58 PM   #542
Veteran Member

Did I get that right? You do hope Pentax/Ricoh starts shipping cameras with unfinished, rough&ready or buggy firmware?
Well, as long as it is finished enough and only needs a bit of polish? I mean, would you like to shoot with your camera now, even if it's not all smooth sailing, and get a fix for that in a few months, or wait a few months without a camera? Exactly. Plus new bugs may be discovered by users, and they'd be fixed earlier than if Pentax waited until the firmware is deemed ready... and they only get discovered at that point.

QuoteOriginally posted by Simen1 Quote
The SD to DVD resolution took a few years. So did the DVD res to HD res take. The same with HD to full HD and now from full HD to 4K. But fps have been standing still at 24 since a century ago. I think its time to increase the flickering slide shows Charlie Chaplins best days to 60 fps for now. 60 fps would be a huge lift from the flickering but even that is not completely flickering free. Later it should be increased to 100-120, but from there its not much visible difference. If you want to do just 1/2 speed slow motion maybe 60 fps recording and 30 fps viewing is enough, if the scene is quite slow to begun with.