Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
05-07-2016, 12:11 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
New 645z Being Field Tested?

So I was just browsing the local Kijiji for Pentax deals, and I noticed this add, where the seller is offering a 645z and claims: "I am a sponsored photographer for Pentax so I'm just changing it as they are sending me a new model to test". I am attaching a screen-shot below in case the add disappears. He/she could be getting a K-1 I guess, but perhaps it's something more interesting... I'd call, but I'm not willing to pretend to be interested in a way-too-expensive-for-me camera to see if he/she will tell me whether the incoming camera is a K-1 or something else.

BTW, the deal works out to about $USD4800 including a 55mm F/2.8 prime, so maybe this should be cross-posted to the Price Watch section, but I doubt the seller is willing to ship. Shutter is at 60,000. No idea who the seller is.

Attached Images

05-07-2016, 12:38 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Given how angry they got at Kenspo for leaking the 100MP MF chip rumour, I would venture to suggest that this sponsored photographer for Pentax could easily find themselves being an unsponsored photographer very swiftly if they got wind of this.

Unless of course the new model s/he hints at is either the K-1 or the IR version of the 645Z.
05-07-2016, 12:58 PM   #3
Pentaxian

The simplest explanation is the K-1 - which is a new model, barely starting to be available. Usually, the simplest explanation is correct (as it implies fewer assumptions).
05-07-2016, 01:05 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Bit short sighted...what if he hates whatever new model it is?

05-07-2016, 01:15 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Kunzite Quote
The simplest explanation is the K-1 - which is a new model, barely starting to be available. Usually, the simplest explanation is correct (as it implies fewer assumptions).