Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-25-2017, 02:48 AM   #151
JPT
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by rawr Quote
I look forwforw to more info on this.

That's a LOT more than the current K-1/K-3/645Z 86kb RGB sensor. Would be wonderful if true.
Is a mistranslation. Google often makes that specific mistake. It's 86,000 in the Japanese text.

I wouldn't panic too much based on yen conversions. That won't be the street price anyway even in Japan, and the dollar price is likely to be significantly lower as usual. However, I think Ricoh is going to try to sell this as a "premium" item, which means they'll try to pitch it on the high side at first.

01-25-2017, 02:52 AM   #152
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by NZ_Ross Quote
Does that need to add 200g weight over the Fuji?
I'm not a camera engineer but K mount and the mirror both contribute.....Pentax build their cameras to last as you know....
01-25-2017, 02:53 AM - 1 Like   #153
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by rawr Quote
I don't think so. That's K-3II intro pricing. This will be more like K-70 intro pricing, and I bet the price will drop quickly once the K-3II replacement is announced.
This is indeed a problem. There has been quite a lot of chopping and changing in recent years with items like the KS1, KS2, K70 and now the KP, in addition to the K3 series. Each new item takes a slightly different direction and set of design cues, and my impression is that it then heads south and the bargain bins begin to sing the moment a new direction is announced. How long is the KP going to last for before the direction changes again? Ricoh need a vision worth sticking with.
01-25-2017, 02:54 AM   #154
Kiwi Pentaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by surfar Quote
I'm not a camera engineer but K mount and the mirror both contribute.....Pentax build their cameras to last as you know....
I am not a camera engineer either