Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 1836 Likes Search this Thread
02-23-2017, 12:16 PM   #496
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote
Actually it's not, but I had decided not to go there in my reply. I am one of the people performing lens reviews for pentaxforums, and an by trade an optical designer with a PhD in optics It would hijack the thread even more to go into details of how lenses are tested and how I build my opinion, but reading reviews will give you an idea. There's a subjective (meaning, non-measurable) part to it, sure, based on my experience with the lenses and looking at how they perform in various situations, the level of detail they deliver, how one compares to the other, but for the most part it's quantitative.

What they do is : verify that a particular copy of a particular lens, on a particular camera, is sharp.

What they SAY is : that lens design compares in such-and-such way with all those other lens designs from all those other manufacturers, and our conclusions are general and applicable in all cases. and they substitute "sharp" with .good" in their conclusions.

The 70-200 is an astounding lens. If not for the size, I would have considered replacing the 60-250 with it, and that's saying something. But I wouldn't say it has pixie dust.

I fully agree with that analysis.
Is it not possible to just take dxo's pure numbers and ignore their opinion? They also measure other things, just like any other review website - vignetting, CA, distortion, light transmission etc, but they have a massive database and an easy web interface to compare lenses, which makes them a good starting point to research a new lens. Granted, they mainly concentrate on canikon, and naturally pentaxforum has more overall reviews (although a lot of them are user reviews, so not really scientific) for Pentax related gear.