Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 658 Likes Search this Thread
05-13-2017, 09:00 PM   #451
Veteran Member

I'm not an engineer but ...

It seems to me that it would be a relatively trivial task to release a Pro version of the K-1 that's exactly the same as the current model, but includes deeper buffers for faster burst shooting. This will come in at a higher price point naturally, but it would attract/retain those shooters that really want that feature and are willing to pay for it.

---------- Post added 05-14-2017 at 03:03 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by Kunzite Quote
I guess there's someone in this big world using a $50000 Hasselblad to take snaps of his lunch and post them on Facebook. But those are exceptions.
A few years ago I found a Japanese guy on flickr who was using a Leica to shoot utterly humdrum pictures of his wife. It was a long time before he even starting playing with DoF or anything. But each of his photos got plenty of likes, because Leica.

05-14-2017, 06:01 AM - 1 Like   #452
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by asw66 Quote
I'm not an engineer but ...

It seems to me that it would be a relatively trivial task to release a Pro version of the K-1 that's exactly the same as the current model, but includes deeper buffers for faster burst shooting. This will come in at a higher price point naturally, but it would attract/retain those shooters that really want that feature and are willing to pay for it.[COLOR="Silver"]
Frame rate is limited by the sensor design in most cameras. For a given sensor, one can tune it for a faster frame rate but it decreases the dynamic range and increases the power requirements.

Deeper buffers would enable longer bursts but not faster ones. Deeper buffers also draw more power which could lessen shots per charge, increase the chance of lock-ups when the battery is not 100% fresh, and potentially require a complete redesign with a larger battery.