Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2018, 04:36 PM - 3 Likes   #1801
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by reh321 Quote
.... I'm not a camera engineer, but purely as an amateur at this, I don't know of any reason a FF camera would have to be significantly larger than the corresponding APS camera - the sensor is not a large part of the overall device - and film cameras of the 1980's were quite svelte. When I think "FF", I think of cameras that result from modifying a KP or a K-3ii by using a 24mp FF sensor to replace the 24mp APS sensor....
It's not really possible to reduce the size very much below that of the K-1. The K-1's mirror box is quite a bit bigger than the K-3's mirror box. As for the rest, it's packed pretty full inside. The only possibility for size reduction would be a smaller grip (sacrificing battery size - and I don't think there would be many takers for that idea as the K-1 is power hungry as it is) and going to a more conventional or fixed rear screen which will reduce the depth of the screen assembly.

The grip on the K-1 is beautifully shaped. But, I'd still like to get the battery grip as I have larger hands and like to hold onto more camera, not less!

10-01-2018, 04:37 PM - 1 Like   #1802
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by fsge Quote
Why not having some kind of poll that we all could answer to :

- Using Pentax FF and I am only interested in ML or another FF development
- Using Pentax FF and interested in a top APSC as a second body
- Using some Pentax APSC and interested in top APSC as a flagship body
- Using Pentax FF or APSC and NO interest in any additional purchase anytime soon
- Using a KP and I am so delighted that I plan to use it until the end of times

When we reach 10000 votes we send the finding to some Ricoh exec...