Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2018, 04:18 AM   #781
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Królik Quote
If this specs leak is true, then someone in the Ricoh marketing team did a very poor job. I hope it is joke.

This is not an incremental update one might expect from release after 2+ years. I am a senior lead engineer in a technology-based company in SV, and we do releases once per 6-9 months. Updating one component by taking it from an already released product is now what we call even an incremental update.
An incremental update is a set of minor improvements in most aspects of the product. A major update is if there is some new big feature or a new huge improvement.

As for the marketing - the main goal of marketing is not to make ads but to listen to the market and decide what product to put on the shelf so people would buy it. And now what Ricoh is doing?
- Pentax is known for its AF system to be lagging behind the competition and having bad press. Ricoh answer: No AF improvements. Not even improved software.
- Poor buffer clearing speed, burst speed on the low-end, compared to competiotion. Ricoh answer: No hardware improvements in this area at all.
- No USB 3.0: Again no improvements at all.
- K1 is known for its outstanding IQ and great sensor beating the competition even in the 2x-3x higher price range. What Ricoh does? They add some software mambo-jumbo chip to improve ISO / IQ even further to ridiculous levels. Are you crazy, Ricoh? Are they gonna be shooting in complete darkness? High ISO makes sense only if you're shooting sports in poor light conditions. But without a decent AF and burst rates, this is pointless - there are better cameras for this.