Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 1125 Likes Search this Thread
06-06-2018, 06:11 AM - 1 Like   #106
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Allow me to look at this from a slightly different angle. I've been shooting Pentax cameras for well over 12 years (if you discount the 20+ years invested into the K1000 in my younger years). I buy a lens every now and then but over the years, as my collection grew, I've started divesting of stuff and sticking to a core set of glass I like to shoot with. I've gone through a number of bodies from the K110D to my current K-70 which I very much appreciate and enjoy - it is an absolutely wonderful piece of camera equipment.

Were Pentax to disappear overnight, would I suddenly find out my gear stopped working? Would I be forced to switch to a different system all at once? Rubbish of course! I'd happily continue to shoot and who knows I might, in due time, eventually migrate to another brand over the course of 5-10 years.

I'm not married to Pentax and Pentax isn't even a company, it is a brand name which is bought and sold between companies as if it were a commodity anyway. I tremendously enjoy my current gear and my current gear is branded with the Pentax name. That's all there is to it. I don't owe anything to any commercial company or one of its brands and vice versa, we both move with whatever developments throw at us and react accordingly.

With other words, a forum editor of a website owned by a major B2C company (Amazon) can say anything he likes, a printed photo mag (mags have pretty much gone out of business anyway) can do the same but why would anyone here feel threatened or insulted? Our cameras and lenses are pretty decent and deliver top-notch images and that IS what it's all about anyway.

06-06-2018, 06:22 AM   #107
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Winder Quote