10-24-2019, 03:33 AM   #31
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Ouch. Did it recover succesfully?

10-24-2019, 03:43 AM   #32
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Okay, you definitely have to write that article with your observations.

On topic, I would offer to write (I like writing when it's not scientific stuff for work please deliver me from this paper!) but between being a total novice and living in Europe (so no loaners, obviously) I'm not sure what I could give back to the community...
10-25-2019, 06:00 AM   #33

QuoteOriginally posted by MJKoski Quote
I can write a story or two about using Pentax stuff in harsh out-of-spec conditions. I have for example an unpublished photo series of using KP in Finnish Lapland. It has waited processing for almost 2 years.

Teaser image!
I dont think you can use your camera in your pic already as the ice totally covered the front of your lens
10-25-2019, 08:45 AM   #34
Veteran Member

No worries, the KP recovered successfully. The key is just to allow it to warm up in airtight container. The lens in the picture is 35mm macro ltd which has the lens hood full of snow instead of ice. It happened as the pivot mechanism of my Faber snowshoe broke at the end of the day and I tumbled down in the snow while tripod (and the camera) ended up against a nearby hoarfrost covered tree.

10-25-2019, 09:30 AM   #35
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

No worries, the KP recovered successfully. The key is just to allow it to warm up in airtight container. The lens in the picture is 35mm macro ltd which has the lens hood full of snow instead of ice. It happened as the pivot mechanism of my Faber snowshoe broke at the end of the day and I tumbled down in the snow while tripod (and the camera) ended up against a nearby hoarfrost covered tree.
"Don't try this at home, kids!"
10-29-2019, 11:26 AM   #36
Forum Member

I totally lagged on the opportunity to assist. I guess thats what happens when I try to ween myself off the interwebs.