Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 990 Likes Search this Thread
06-21-2019, 02:41 PM   #241
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Trickortreat Quote
Yep. Just dunno why Pentax engineers didnt managed to implement an on/off function. Would have been an win-win for all...
I believe the answer given at CP+ 2019 was a polite version of "It cannot be done".

The 'accelerator' comes between sensor and processor; all data flows through 'accelerator' going from sensor to processor. You may question their design, but it works, and since I worked with many hardware engineers in my role as a software engineer, I would never question how they do their job - they know it better than I do.

06-21-2019, 02:44 PM - 3 Likes   #242
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The accelerator is only a cheat if it is actually making the image less true to the actual scene.

Within the realm of the math of signal processing, there are often valid ways that suppress noise with minimal effect on the true signal.

Whether PP can truly replicate the accelerator's effect depends on whether the accelerator is using only the RAW sensor data or if it has access to other internal data such factory calibration data or internal parameters thta don't appear in the EXIF or image data.
06-21-2019, 03:24 PM   #243
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by reh321 Quote
I believe the answer given at CP+ 2019 was a polite version of "It cannot be done".

The 'accelerator' comes between sensor and processor; all data flows through 'accelerator' going from sensor to processor. You may question their design, but it works, and since I worked with many hardware engineers in my role as a software engineer, I would never question how they do their job - they know it better than I do.
Well.. im an electronics engineer and im really wondering why it couldnt be done. doesnt make much sense to me...
06-21-2019, 03:42 PM   #244
Site Supporter
Site Supporter