Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version 3229 Likes Search this Thread
11-04-2019, 08:20 AM - 2 Likes   #3271
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ecostigny Quote
I wonder if the sensor has enough back-and-forth motion range to accommodate the focus stacking requirements. I'm not a mechanical engineer, so I cannot guess what would be needed.
"It's complicated"!!

The amount of stacking possible with sensor movement is extremely sensitive to stacking scenario, focal length, and magnification.

For landscape stacks (stacking from foreground to infinity), shorter focal lengths work much better. If the sensor could move 10mm (and that means making the camera 10 mm thicker!), then it could do a landscape stack all the way from 0.1 meters to ∞ with a 28mm lens, but only do a stack from 1.1 meters ti ∞ with a 100mm lens and only 9.3 meters to ∞ with a 300mm lens.

For a modest macro (1:2) stacks, a sensor movement of 10mm would offer 23mm of stacking with a 28mm lens, 29 mm of stacking with a 50 mm lens, and 36mm of stacking with a 200 mm lens.

For high macro such as 2:1 stacks, a sensor movement of 10mm would offer only 2.1mm of stacking with a 28mm lens, 2.3 mm of stacking with a 50 mm lens, and 2.4mm of stacking with a 200 mm lens.

11-04-2019, 08:23 AM - 2 Likes   #3272
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by reh321 Quote
Well, we learned that the fixed LCD seems even more certain than it had.
I'm OK with it either way. I think the design is pretty much set now.
11-04-2019, 08:35 AM   #3273
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by JPT Quote
Look's like Kimio Tanaka has had his hands on one and he says it feels good - a bit different but firmer than the K-3.

Photo of the Day 11?4?
Interesting comments.
11-04-2019, 08:41 AM   #3274
mlt
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Looks like what we’ve seen is what we get as far as the body goes. Now all we need is the internals specifics and control functions.